Working with the Translation Editor

The Translation Editor is the core of Translation Center. It lets you search for translations, manage keys and perform the actual translation work. While translating, it provides useful meta information and assists translators and managers to quickly translate content without losing focus:

Translation Editor

Do you want to use the new editor right away? See how to upgrade to the new version.

Searching Keys

Finding keys that need to be translated or reviewed is one of the most important tasks. The Translation Editor supports various search modes:

Search field

Simply search for complete key names by typing the whole name, e.g. “home.headline” or occurrences in translations. To find partial keys, you can use the wildcard operator, e.g. “home.*”.

The search only finds translations within the search locale (see the left side of the search field).

Filters

Besides providing a search string, you can also filter results based on several criteria:

  • Translation state (translated, untranslated)
  • Verification state (verified, unverified)
  • Excluded state (marked as excluded, not marked as excluded)
  • Pluralisation (pluralised, unpluralised)

You can also combine filters, e.g. to find all verified translations for pluralised keys.

Tags

To filter search results by a specific tag, simply type “tag:<tagname>” into the search field, e.g. “tag:my-feature”. After typing “tag:” a list of available tags will be shown to choose from.

Saving Translations

To save a translation, click “Save” or use the appropriate keyboard shortcut (Ctrl+s or Cmd+s).

Save & Next

You can activate the “Save & Next” mode by selecting it from the dropdown next to the “Save” button. When “Save & Next” is enabled, saving a translation will automatically load the next search result in the Translation Editor. This speeds up translating a set of keys tremendously.

If the key you’re currently editing supports pluralization, saving a translation in “Save & Next” mode will automatically open the next available plural form in the editor.

Verifying & Unverifying translations

To verify or unverify a translation, use the “Verify” and “Unverify” buttons next to the “Save” button. This will also save any changes you made to the translation.

When the “Save & Next” mode is enabled, verifying and unverifying will also load the next search result afterwards.

Updating all locales for a Key

A common scenario is to modify all translations for a specific key. To quickly see all translations for a key, choose “All locales” from the sidebar panel. Now you can glance through the translations for this key and open each one in the Translation Editor by clicking the “Open in Editor” button.

Editing pluralised Keys

When editing a pluralized key, you can quickly jump through all plural forms by selecting it from the dropdown above the translation input field.

Hotkeys

The Translation Editor has great support for hotkeys, which can speed up working in the editor, especially with multiple keys. For a list of all supported keyboard shortcuts just visit “? → Keyboard Shortcuts” or type “?” on your keyboard.

The sidebar contains a lot of useful information that provide context and helpful tools at your fingertips:

Context

Find key descriptions, screenshots for further context, links to Context-View and much more in the sidebar.

Glossary

The sidebar will show you matches from attached glossaries right in the sidebar and apply the correct translation for terms with one click.

Translation Memory

The most relevant hits from the built-in Translation Memory are accessible in real-time.

History

See all previous versions of a translation in the History tab.

Machine Translation

The sidebar lets you request and apply a machine translation easily.

Comments

Discuss possible questions with team members right next to the actual translation.

All locales

Looking for all translations for a key? You can find them in the sidebar, too and open them for editing with a single click.

Pro Tip: Tired of clicking? All sidebar panels can be accessed directly via keyboard shortcuts!

How to upgrade

We recommend to upgrade to the new version of the editor. New features and improvements will only be available in the new version of the editor.

For Master users and Manager users

If you’re still using the old editor and want to upgrade to the new version, simply go to your Account Details, and open the settings dialog (Edit Account Details). There you can activate the new editor for your account. When enabled, all users of your account will be able to use the new version of the editor:

Upgrade to new Editor in your Account Settings

For Developer users and Translator users

Please note that only users with the role “Master User” and “Manager” can enable the new editor for the account. In order to upgrade your account to the new editor, please contact a Manager user or the Master user of your account.