Verification and Proofreading

PhraseApp offers a simple yet powerful mechanism to implement a proofreading workflow for your translations and to make sure your translators are notified when the source content has changed - which requires the revision of existing translations.

What is Verification?

Each translation in PhraseApp can be either “verified” (default) or “unverified”. Unverified translations are clearly marked and you can search for them in the editor. An unverified translation can either require proofreading or revision by a translator, e.g. because the original meaning has changed.

Automatic Unverification

When the source content for a translation changes, you want to make sure your translators are notified about this change so that they can revise and/or verify the accuracy of the translations they made.

Automatic unverification is triggered for all changes made to translations of “Main Locales” in a project. Most often these are the languages of your main customer base (for example Spanish if your customers are located in Spain) and thus most important. You can mark a locale as a main locale within the locale settings.

Main locale setting

This also applies to translations updated via file upload (e.g. via API) when the “update translations” option was specified. Translations of main locales that are updated during that process will also trigger automatic unverification.

Manual Unverification

Besides automatic unverification, you can also (un)verify translations manually. Simply click the “Unverify” or “Verify” button next to a translation within the editor.

Of course you can also verifiy and unverify translations via API.

Viewing Changes

When deciding whether a translation is still accurate, it can be very helpful to see which changes were actually made to the source translations since the translation in question was verified the last time.

You can display a diff between these two versions by clicking the “Show changes” button next to an unverified translation.

Translation changed in main locale

Verification History

Translation history is available in the Startup plan and above

To see which translation was (un)verified by whom you can consult the translation history. It will not only show the content updates but also display a timeline of (un)verification actions.

Skipping automatic unverification

You can prevent automatic unverification by checking the “Skip verification” option when saving a translation. If specified, updating the translation will not cause all other translations to be marked as unverified.

This can be useful if you are just fixing a typo or formatting without changing the actual meaning of the (source) translation.

To skip the unverification process when uploading a file, you can use the skip_unverification flag.


Proofreading is available in the Corporate plan and above

Set up proofreading

To activate proofreading for a locale, simply activate “Unverify new translations by default” within the “Workflow” tab in your locale settings.

If you also want to mark updated translations as unverified by default, you can also activate the “Unverify updated translations by default”.

Translation changed in main locale

Proofreading Workflow

With proofreading activated, all new (or updated) translations in that locale will be marked as “unverified” which indicates manual verification is necessary.

This can be used to let developers introduce new keys to your project that contain a first draft as content in your default locale which shows the editor in your team that the text still needs to be refined.

It is also useful if you want to make sure translations in a certain locale are always verified by a senior project manager/translator.

To verify a translation, simply filter for “Unverified translations” in the editor and verify each translation with a single click. The progress bar on the locale overview and the project report will tell you when all translations are verified.

Why are there unverified translations in my locale file?

We believe it is more important to release/deploy a translation that is not perfect over not releasing a translation at all (and thus displaying a translations your user cannot understand or - even worse - a placeholder).

That is why we do not exclude unverified translations when you download a locale file from PhraseApp. Instead we recommend to embrace a continuous localization approach and improve existing (especially unverfied) translations on a regular basis without delaying a release of your product.